Somerset Disability Sports Awards

Somerset Activity and Sports Partnership (SASP) Disability Sports Awards took place on the 19 October, at Taunton Vale Sports Centre. The event recognised and rewarded the sporting achievements of local participants, partners, clubs, coaches and volunteers within disability sport across the County. Over 60 people attended the awards including local community clubs, coaches and volunteers, special schools, colleges, National Governing Bodies, Sport England, English Federation of Disability Sport (EFDS) and Somerset Skills and Learning.

SASP works with many providers and organisations across the County to provide opportunities for inclusive sport. This year saw a new partnership with Future4, a provider of day centre provision for adults with a learning disability, to develop sporting opportunities for their clients. As a result of this successful partnership, activities are now up and running in 13 day centres across Somerset. We wanted to showcase and reward some of the fantastic work that goes on within disability sport in Somerset.

Penny Gibbons, Learning Support Coordinator from Somerset Skills & Learning said:

'It's heartening to see so many activities around the County that are inclusive. Thank you for the invitation, I was very pleased to see the obvious pleasure people had in receiving their awards'

The awards were hosted by BBC Somerset's Ben McGrail. Guest speaker Amanda George (ParalympicsGB Archer) opened the awards talking about her experiences and achievements within sport.

SASP would like to thank everyone for attending such a worthy event and special thanks go to Ben McGrail for hosting. Congratulations to all winners and nominees.


  • School of the Year – Fairmead School
  • College of the Year – Lufton College – Winner. Bridgwater College – Runner up
  • Recognition of Outstanding Contribution in the Workplace - Aaron Hardwidge & Futures 4 Huntspill
  • Facility of the Year – Goldenstones Leisure Centre- winner. Bridgwater College – Runner up
  • Volunteer coach of the year – Linda Vowles – winner. Simon Penny – Runner up.
  • Club of the year – Yeovil Lynx Wheelchair Basketball Club - winner. Somerset Visually Impared Cricket Club and Somerset Disabled Cricket Club– runners up
  • Female Achiever – Emma Povey - winner. Kathryn Porter and Eve Sale – runners up.
  • Male Achiever – Jamie Edwards – winner. Paula Malugu and Connor Hyde – runners up.
  • Volunteer of the year – Linda Vowles - winner. Simon Penny – runner up
  • SASP Outstanding Contribution to Disability Sport – Ivor Griffiths – winner.
  • SASP special recognition award – Edgar Herridge, Somerset Visually impaired and Disabled Cricket Clubs

Partners and Sponsors

Partners and Sponsors

  • Sport England
    Active Partnerships
    Somerset Business Award Winner
    Somerset Chamber of Commerce
    Disability Confident
  • Somerset Skills & Learning
    Youth Sport Trust
    activity alliance
    Sedgemoor District Council
    Avon & Somerset Police
  • South Somerset District Council
    Somerset Partnership
    Yeovil Hospital Healthcare
    Taunton & West Somerset Council
    Mendip District Council
    Homes in Sedgemoor
  • Macmillan Cancer Support
    Spark Somerset
    YMCA Dulverton Group
    Department for Work & Pensions
    Somerset CCG
    together team
    Somerset Cricket Board
    British American Football Association
    Badminton England
    Somerset FA
  • British Cycling
    Create Development
    Children in Need
    The Salvation Army
    Somerset County Council
  • Channel Adventure
    Nova Sports & Coaching
    Zing Somerset
    Sports Coach UK